29
Jul
08

Wii Motion Plus against the SIXAXIS/DualShock3

For my opening statement I’d like to ask:

What the fuck?!

Even better, I think this will illustrate my point even better. So if the title of this post and the CAD comic aren’t enough explanation, you’re probably asking yourself, dear reader, “what the heck is this guy going on about?”. Well let me enlighten you.

During this year’s E3 keynote Nintendo presented something they call the Wii Motion Plus, which supposedly enhances the Wiimote’s orientation in 3D space, which is, of course, beneficial for developers of new Wii games, and basically means you can throw a virtual dog a virtual frisbee, and the throwing motion of you’re Mii will be a little more accurate. “What’s wrong with that ?”, you may ask. I’d that at least two things if not more.

1. Obviously, even though the frisbee throuwing is a real miningame in WiiSports Resort, I was sarcastic before. But let’s think realistically, developers are going to want use the new functionality in their games (for example, Ubisoft has confirmed that they will use the ‘Plus in Red Steel 2). And that’s great, isn’t it? No, it isn’t because I and probably a lot of other people don’t think the ‘Plus will be really widely adopted. By the customers, I mean. You’ll get one attachment with Resort, but what if you don’t want to play another WiiSports, or have 4 controllers? Spending 80 dollars (20$ US for one Wii Motion Plus attachment) for some dongle that you don’t even does what it says on the box isn’t really a happy prospect. And this doubt leads me to my next point.

2. Remember when Sony decided to finally come out with the Dual Shock 3? First of all, they got berated for even daring to change the controller during the console’s lifespan. The DS3 is known to be better than the SIXAXIS (it’s sturdier, heavier, and most importantly it vibrates) but since not every gamer would get the new controller, the vibrations couldn’t be used as a vital part of gameplay as it was on PS2, because gamers without the device couldn’t get the same experience and presumably the game would be harder for them. And now (look at the CAD comic again) Nintendo jumps out with something that could be even more important to gameplay, since the lack of it could possibly render games unplayable. And, prove me wrong, but I haven’t seen as many critical comments as at the time of the Dual Shock 3 annoucement.

Of course now I could go on using big market terms like “splitting the customer base” but I think you get the idea.

So, I just wanted to vent my frustration with this situation, if you have any feedback on the topic at hand or on my writing (I’d love some critique) please feel free to leave comments.

0 Responses to “Wii Motion Plus against the SIXAXIS/DualShock3”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Contact (if you must)

E-Mail - fantasyoosh@gmail.com skype - fantasyh

Archives

Flickr Photos


